Welcome to Cedar Oak Farms
Built in 1891, it was given the name Cedar Oak Farms largely due to its location. The farmstead, nestled amid a grove of cedar and oak trees, is butted up along Middlefork River and Forest Reserve. This allows us an up close and personal view of all the locals: deer, red fox, otter, coyote, and as legend would have it, a lone black panther. But before Cedar Oak Farms, the lands were popular hunting grounds of the Kickapoo Indians. Area artifacts suggest there had been Indian homesites, but of a temporary nature, not tribal settlements. Even today a hike through the timber will kick up an arrowhead or the occasional bits of broken pottery.